Blogs  |  5.20.2016

June Scobee Rodgers Honored by Alma Maters

Founding Chair Dr. June Scobee Rodgers received two prestigious honors this month, adding to a long list of well deserved recognitions and awards for her dedication to STEM education and three decades of work with Challenger Center.

The College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) at Texas A&M University honored 21 educators who have made a positive impact on the lives of their students at the 2016 Dean’s Roundtable the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center. June, Texas A&M University class of 1983, was among those honored and also served as the keynote speaker for the special event.

“Be flexible. Don’t take yourself too seriously. Be curious and creative. Focus on your students’ potential and be their champion. Make lessons relevant by tying them into their interests or current events. Laugh with them. Stay alert and vigilant, but have fun. Be serious about learning and advancing STEM careers. Find an experienced teacher to be your mentor. Strive to make a difference.” – Dr. June Scobee Rodgers

Established by Dr. Jane Stallings in 1991, the Dean’s Roundtable has recognized more than 550 educators who are role models to their students and peers, mentors for new education professionals, and servant leaders in their communities.  In the process, they have raised over $450,000 in support of scholarships, programs and college initiatives. The 2016 Dean’s Roundtable honorees include superintendents, classroom teachers, distinguished professors and other educators who embody the mission of life-long learning and excellence in education.

June was also selected to receive Chapman University’s Albert Schweitzer Award of Excellence for 2016, in recognition of her extraordinary work. June is a Chapman graduate, receiving her MA in education in 1978. This prestigious Award is offered annually by Chapman University and the Albert Schweitzer Institute, and is presented at the celebratory Baccalaureate Service designed to inspire students as they move out into the world upon graduation.

Previous Awards have been given to a number of organizations and individuals, based in the United States and abroad, who have made exemplary humanitarian contributions for the betterment of humankind and our world. These recipients include Whirlwind Wheelchair International, the American Friends Service Committee, Dr. Helen Caldicott and Physicians for Social Responsibility, Concern America, Norman Cousins, Givat Haviva, Habitat for Humanity, Dr. Linus Pauling, L’Arche, the Southern Poverty Law Center, Tias Arms, and others.

Please join Challenger Center as we congratulate our leader, Dr. June Scobee Rodgers!