Arthur C. Clarke Award for Innovation in Education

The Arthur C. Clarke Award for Innovation in Education recognizes a Challenger Learning Center that has implemented a new and innovative program that impacts student learning, supports teachers, and/or promotes creativity.


Recipients are recognized at Challenger Center’s annual conference and receive a $400 contribution.

2022 Awardee

Congratulations to Challenger Learning Center at Wheeling University, our 2023 Arthur C. Clarke Award for Innovation in Education recipient for their collaboration with the West Virginia Department of Education to deliver distance learning experiences to students at 15 state juvenile corrections facilities.

Previous Awardees


Challenger Learning Center at the Scobee Education Center at San Antonio College


Challenger Learning Center of Alaska


Challenger Learning Center of Tallahassee


Buehler Challenger and Science Center


Challenger Learning Center – St. Louis

Award Sponsor

Sir Arthur C. Clarke had a passion for innovation, space, and the ocean, as well as a belief in imagination—all of which perfectly align with Challenger Center’s mission to ignite the potential in today’s students and tomorrow’s innovators.

In 2017, Dr. Joseph Pelton, a close friend to Arthur C. Clarke and a founding board member of the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation, worked with Challenger Center to establish the Arthur C. Clarke Innovation in Education Award to honor his late friend. Clarke was an engineer, futurist, and humanist who believed we all must “imagine past today to shape a better tomorrow.”

Dr. Pelton is a luminary in the field of advanced telecommunications technology and regulations and is the author of more than 50 books. He played a key role in establishing the International Space University, has been a leader of space and satellite technology at several university research centers, and was the founding president of the Society of Satellite Professionals. Dr. Pelton continues to inspire the next generation of innovators through his contribution to STEM fields and delivery of educational lectures to audiences worldwide.